Digital Detox

unplugIt has been a while since DDX took place. A couple of weeks to be precise. Initially I imagined I would be the queen of intersection between technology and self in 7 days flat. Surprise, Surprise , planning fallacy to the rescue!

My Plan
Deleting whatsap and other apps gradually which were not adding any real value to my life. Using my phone for 2 hours in a day inclusive of calls/ texts/taking selfies/miscellaneous. Keeping my phone at one place at home and just accessing it from that spot. Using the internet for a limited amount of time in a day and being mindful of the sites I am browsing.

What Actually Happened
To start with all these ideas are completely awe inspired by the minimalists .

All of the above , mindful app usage, phone usage and internet usage has taken place. Gradually I have achieved full clarity as to why I am using my phone and the internet. There is no more mindless exchange of information and dialogue. I know exactly why I want to talk to a certain person when I dial their number. Most importantly there is no unnecessary exchange of texts. I have a purpose when I go online now . The laptop is shut down everyday and put back in its bag like any other gadget should be cared for. Entertainment does not overpower intention anymore !

What I am reminded of AGAIN
Conversations should be intentional, meaningful and succinct. Hearing someone’s voice definitely makes me smile wider than looking at emoticons (still don’t know what half of them mean). The phone and the internet are very very powerful tools. They must be used with intention, precaution and off course, love .

YES
We all have our own circumstances .We all have our romantic and apathetic phases in our relationship with technology. In finding balance on this spectrum of emotional dichotomy lets click the right buttons!

Leave a Reply

